Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content




You are here : Home | Community | Sport | Football



MTN8 season is finally here!

With 8 teams putting their best foot forward on the pitch, only one will come out a winner. This is the part where you get a piece of the MTN8 action.

Are you IN or OUT? Dial *130*1# and be automatically entered into the lucky draws that will take place every Monday, from the 21 August 2017 – 23 October 2017.

When you recharge with R10 or more, you stand a chance to win your share of R8 million in MTN8 prizes, such as:

  • 100 Samsung 55” Full HD Curved TV each valued at R 9166.00 to watch the games.
  • 100 Refrigerator Combi Fridge each valued at R 6789.00 to stock up on beverages.
  • 100 Samsung Mirror SOLO 2l Capacity Microwave each valued at R1416.00 to warm up the match meals.
  • 100 Handset J7 Samsung Handset each valued at R 4199.00 to post all the Wafa Wafa action.
  • 100 Galaxy Tablets TAB E96 each valued at R2900.00 to get a better picture of the games.
  • 300 Shopping Gift Card each valued at R1000.00 that you can use to get your teams apparel.
  • 30 Play Station 4 1TB each valued at R7698.00 to participate in your own game after the game.
  • 1500 MTN airtime to use when telling all your friends about MTN8.
  • 500 MTN data to keep everyone posted about Wafa Wafa.

The more you enter, the more you’ll be IN to increase your chance of becoming

The Last Fan Standing. You also stand to win the biggest prize of them all - a trip to the World Cup in Russia in 2018 and R1 million in cash! Accommodation will be covered and pocket money will provided to you, as well as a stipend and match tickets to selected games.

The game is on! From 11 August 2017 to 14 October 2017, you can catch MTN8 on your screens and at the stadiums. Join the conversation on #MTN8 and be on the lookout for match ticket giveaways. Get the Wafa Wafa 411 on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

Catch the MTN8 tournament on:

  • Friday, 11 August – Bidvest Wits vs. Golden Arrows, Bidvest Stadium, 20:00
  • Saturday, 12 August – Cape Town City vs. Polokwane City, Peter Mokaba Stadium, 15:00
  • Saturday, 12 August – Kaizer Chiefs vs. SuperSport United, Moses Mabhida Stadium, 20:00
  • Sunday, 13 August – Mamelodi Sundowns vs. Maritzburg United, Lucas Moripe Stadium, 15:00

Look out for the teams that will be IN:

  • Semi-finals dates to be confirmed.
  • 14 October (Final – details to be confirmed)

Ulindeni? Are you IN or OUT?

T&C apply.

Entrants must be MTN prepaid subscribers, 18 years or older and have a valid South African bank account.

Sponsored teams

Bloemfontein Celtic

Bloemfontein Celtic is rather known for its large fan base in the Free State. Siwelele, as Celtic's supporters are known, are arguably the most passionate in South Africa

Fact File:

Full name: Bloemfontein Celtic Football Club

Nickname(s): Phunya Sele Sele, Siwelele

Founded: 1969, as Mangaung United

Ground: Seisa Ramabodu Stadium, Bloemfontein (Capacity: 20,000)

Chairman: Jimmy Augousti

Coach: Clinton Larsen

League: ABSA Premiership

2010–11: ABSA Premiership, 5th

Share on

  | Print