Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content




You are here : Home | Community | Sport | Cycling



Team MTN Qhubeka p/b Samsung is set to make history when it becomes the first African registered cycling team to participate in the Tour de France this year. To be on the starting line of Le Tour is a huge step forward for Team MTN Qhubeka p/b Samsung and a massive milestone for African cycling. The opportunity comes with great responsibility and Team MTN Qhubeka p/b Samsung will take to the Grand Départ 2015 with clear objectives and a strong team. Five African and four international riders make up the Team MTN Qhubeka p/b Samsung Tour de France cycling squad.

As an African team racing to raise awareness for the Qhubeka charity, they head to the Tour de France with the goal of putting 5 000 African children on bicycles through the #BicyclesChangeLives campaign. MTN is extremely pleased that five of the nine riders on our squad come from Africa, with the remaining four spots completed by international riders.

There has been much speculation as to who might make the Team MTN Qhubeka p/b Samsung squad for our African debut appearance at the La Grande Boucle, but it is with great pleasure and excitement that we officially announce the nine-rider list.

We have three South African riders represented. Our South African national road race champion, Jacques Janse van Rensburg, the African continental road race champion, Louis Meintjes, and our fast finishing, Reinardt Janse van Rensburg, have all made the selection.

Our Eritrean riders, who were all part of Eritrea’s continental team time trial victory this year, have all also made the selection. Merhawi Kudus and Daniel Teklehaimanot will each be part of the final nine starting spots.

Complementing our five African men are the four experienced internationals, Edvald Boasson Hagen, Steve Cummings, Serge Pauwels and Tyler Farrar. All four men have been an integral part in the development of our African riders, and are now ready to help champion our #BicyclesChangeLives cause at the Tour de France.


  • Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway)
  • Steve Cummings (Great Britain)
  • Tyler Farrar (USA)
  • Jacques Janse van Rensburg (South Africa)
  • Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (South Africa)
  • Merhawi Kudus (Eritrea)
  • Louis Meintjes (South Africa)
  • Serge Pauwels (Belgium)
  • Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eritrea)

For more info on the riders, visit the Team MTN Qhubeka p/b Samsung website.

MTN is extremely proud of the team and know that they will honour us as a nation!

Share on

  | Print